Seven Students Commended for National Merit Scholarship Program


Congratulations to seniors Josephine Perl, Joseph Litjens, Ali Jedlicka, Andre Insalaco, Gavin Ehlers, James Daniels, and Madison Quinn!  All were recognized by he National Merit Scholarship program as commended scholars.  Gavin Ehlers was recognized as a semifinalist.

According to, “in late September, more than two-thirds (about 34,000) of the approximately 50,000 high scorers on the PSAT/NMSQT receive Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise.”

“In early September, about 16,000 students, or approximately one-third of the 50,000 high scorers, are notified that they have qualified as Semifinalists.”

“The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. Approximately 1.5 million high school students enter the program each year.”